Excel Flashcards template

12 Mar

Holy moly. Why didn’t I think of this sooner? I just created an excel template for 12 flashcards per page, where the inputs go into a table on the first worksheet and the flashcards are created on the second worksheet. This way, I don’t have to constantly try to align and rethink where the corresponding backs of each flashcard go.

It’s not perfect in that equations are a bit cumbersome. I would honestly just write in the exponents and such before I make the copies onto cardstock.

I’ve just been making class sets of useful flashcards for my Geo classes. This would be great for vocab! I created it originally for factoring perfect squares, as partner work. I’ll drop both into the Box widget, to be edited as you please. Please be careful of the “12flashcards ppg” file because it is a TEMPLATE file to be saved in your Templates folder…

1st worksheet where the data is input

2nd worksheet of the actual flashcards for print

6 Responses to “Excel Flashcards template”

  1. Charise October 10, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    These are great! Thanks!

  2. http://tinyurl.com/gregday57421 February 2, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    This unique blog, “Excel Flashcards template Teaching ninJa” was excellent.
    I am generating out a copy to clearly show my personal pals.
    Many thanks,Kieran

  3. Heather March 10, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    This is great, I have just spent about three hours trying to do something very similar (I failed) I couldn’t get the cells to stay the size I wanted them :-( I was also trying to get the answer on the back of the flashcard to be upside down so when you flip it, it is the right way up. i.e. when you flip you don’t have to twist your wrist. Excel will not let you format text upside down though so I was trying to do in landscape and have the text facing the left and right. I notice you have cells separating your answers, is this so the cells stay the correct size?

    • teachingninja April 8, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

      Thanks everyone!

      I believe I put the cells separating my answers to accommodate for the margins and so that once I printed them I only had to fold so I got clean cuts without black lines shooting randomly everywhere. I believe since I’ve posted this though, I’ve reverted to a Word template where I can input pictures and MathType better into the format. That is what was limiting about the Excel one. I’ll try to post that template soon too.

  4. teachingninja May 12, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

    After having gone through almost every template that I can possibly create, on Word or Excel, I found a site that does it all! http://www.quizlet.com. It’s free but for $15/ month, you can upload images too (only downside is that you can only upload on to one side of the card). The best part? They have 5 different ways to print it AND your students can access and print them from home too!

    I need to make a post about this…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Copycat: Flashcard App : Datageeks.info - August 18, 2014

    […] Many sources are available for making basic flashcards in excel, as offered by Teaching Ninja, Carl […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 372 other followers