Fraction Fail

13 Sep

SIX days of 95 minute block periods spent on HOW TO USE A RULER and all but ONE failed the 5 question test. Not only can they not find the fractional part of an inch, they are still reading 3 inches as 4 if I don’t start the ruler from 0!!

**help**

2 Responses to “Fraction Fail”

  1. Angela September 14, 2009 at 2:26 am #

    Would it help if they cover up the numbers on the rulers with whiteout or something? I just measured my middle finger (I know it’s random) and it’s 3 inches. Now I can always use my finger as a ruler! Maybe your students can too? Or does that defeat the purpose?

  2. talkingninja September 15, 2009 at 4:11 am #

    No, I think you’re right. I think maybe the gap btwn a handspan and a ruler was too big. Using a finger and sticking with inches sounds like it could help because it simply looks more linear as well.

    I was thinking of maybe having them create their own handspan ruler first too. Maybe they can then see the linear connection with their discrete handspan. =( I decided to move on and try the next thing before going back though. Way too depressed to pick up another ruler for now.

Leave a Reply

