Monkey See Monkey Do

20 Apr

I always tell my Algebra kids “Don’t be a monkey!” As in, don’t just mimic the steps without knowing why you are doing what your are doing because even monkeys can mimic steps.

We are now on simplifying rational expressions and as I was tutoring one student, she did something like this:

When I asked her why we “cancel” these and we got to the fact that they divide to equal one, she goes, “Oh my gosh, I’m such a monkey.”

I cracked up. I think they’re getting it.

2 Responses to “Monkey See Monkey Do”

  1. printing press in dubai December 8, 2014 at 2:14 am #

    You actually make it seem really easy with your presentation however I to find this matter
    to be really one thing that I feel I would by no means understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward on your
    next publish, I will attempt to get the dangle of it!

    • Louisa May 14, 2017 at 10:48 pm #

      1er Forum Culture & Innovations: 13 institutions culturelles … Cette première rencontre entre les entreprises et les lieux culturels membres (à jour de leur cotisation) du CLIC France se déroulera de 14H30 à 17H30. 14H30 – 15H00 : prcni&ute;seetataon de chaque entreprise en 3 minutes … Source:

Leave a Reply

