Math Projects Class

21 May

I really do LOVE my school. Although there might be cons to every pro, one of the PROS of our crazy schedule is that if I wanted to create a class like, say, a MATH PROJECTS class, it can become a reality.

Figuring that I actually had two Calculus classes this year instead of one, I thought it would be fun if I could extract one new class out of those two Calc classes to do nothing but fun math projects for one entire mester. Long story short, it got approved!!

So far we have completed one project and are working on the second. Here is the line-up so far, in no real particular order:

  1. Egg Bungee (Linear modeling)      *completed
  2. M&M Catapult (Quadratic modeling)      *in progress
  3. Backpack weight guess vs actual (Statistical analysis)     *inserted after seeing write-up of Egg Bungee
  4. Hot Air Balloon (Volume vs. Surface Area/ Calculus)
  5. Anvil on Spring (Spring constant modeling/ Physics)
  6. Tetrahedron Kite (Volume vs Area/ Geometry)

SO FUN! I am more than excited for all of these projects and am still researching more. I really want to do one on forensics, like calculating the angles to blood spatter and such (too much Dexter probably). I can’t seem to find any lessons for it though. If you have an idea, please do share!

Actually, any project ideas that are loaded with math would be greatly appreciated! I will be sharing of some of these activities as they come along as well. =) Stay tuned~

2 Responses to “Math Projects Class”

  1. Aisha Saeed October 13, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Hi! i have to do project for my Multi-Variable Calculus Class.
    And I really like the idea of hot air balloon and tetrahedron kite =)

  2. a January 13, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    check out teachengineering.org

Leave a Reply

